Bachelor of Nutrition Science - Honours

Australian Catholic University (ACU)

This is a one-year degree or equivalent part time study, taught in English, for high-achieving students who have already completed a relevant Bachelor degree. Students initially develop an understanding of ethical research design, practice and analysis within a nutrition and food science research setting. This knowledge is then incorporated into an original and independent research project conducted under the supervision of academic staff and/or industry professionals with expertise in the field. Bachelor of Nutrition Science (Honours) students will have the opportunity to: explore and analyse a specialist area of nutrition and food science from both a theoretical and professional perspective, develop research skills, conduct a creative and analytical study in the form of a thesis, prepare for higher degree studies at the Masters and Doctoral level. In an increasingly competitive job market, an honours degree will give you an edge over candidates who just have an undergraduate degree.

Entry Requirements:

To be eligible for admission to the course, a student must have completed a relevant bachelor degree and attained a grade point average (GPA) of at least 5.50 on the ACU 7 point scale, in that degree.


80 cp

Study Pathways:

Graduates are eligible to apply for admission to: postgraduate studies in Nutrition and Dietetics; postgraduate studies in High Performance Sport and further study in other allied health professions.

Further information:

Examples of the work and settings the course prepares graduates for: National and international health agencies, State and federal government health departments, Public health nutritionist, Industry nutritionist, Private practice nutritionist, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition communicator, Food science and technology industry, Food safety and regulation, Quality assurance, Research and product development, Education sector

Campus ATAR/OP Adjusted Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
Melbourne (St Patrick's) No info No Part time 2 years
North Sydney (MacKillop) No info No Part time 2 years
Strathfield (Mount Saint Mary) No info No Full time 1 year
Melbourne (St Patrick's) No info No Full time 1 year
North Sydney (MacKillop) No info No Full time 1 year
Strathfield (Mount Saint Mary) No info No Part time 2 years
Australian Catholic University (ACU) commenced operation on 1 January 1991. The University has seven campuses in Adelaide, Ballarat, Brisbane, Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney (2 campuses) and teaches courses throughout Australia and overseas. The University was formed by the amalgamation of four Catholic institutions of higher education in eastern Australia, and is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (Australian Catholic University Ltd).

ACU is a public university open to all, a Table A listed higher education provider under the Higher Education Support Act 2003, and a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities, and the International Federation of Catholic Universities. The University is a member of Universities Australia (formerly the Australian Vice-Chancellors' Committee).

The three foundation Faculties are Arts and Sciences, Education, and Health Sciences. The Faculty of Theology and Philosophy commenced operation on 1 January 2009 and the Faculty of Business commenced operation on 1 January 2010.

ACU graduates are high achievers and enjoy one of the best rates of employment in Australia. ACU students undertake work experience throughout their studies, with many students finding jobs using their professional skills even before they have graduated.

ACU's small friendly campuses, small class sizes (student to teacher ratio of 18.5:1), easy access to teaching staff and outstanding student support services allows students to achieve their full potential.

Provider CRICOS: 00004G

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Enquire about this course

Related courses