Bachelor of Clinical Sciences

Charles Darwin University (CDU)

This course is only available to school leavers or higher education students who have studied for no more than one year and hold Year 12 qualifications. This degree is designed to provide a pathway for Year 12 students to complete the Flinders University Doctor of Medicine (MD) taught in the Northern Territory. The Bachelor of Clinical Sciences (BCSC) is the first award of a double degree with Flinders University's MD and provides a guaranteed direct entry into the Flinders University MD in the third year, subject to students meeting the course requirements for the BCSC in the first two years. The Bachelor of Clinical Sciences will provide students with a solid foundation in the fundamental health and medical-related sciences, to enable students to successfully complete the Flinders MD. Completion of the first year of the Flinders MD, which is also the third and final year of the BCSC, will qualify students to graduate with a Bachelor of Clinical Sciences.

Entry Requirements:

Year 12 or equivalent; UCAT


One common unit (10cp), 12 core units at CDU (120cp), 6 core units at Flinders University (80cp) and 3 elective units (30cp) totalling 240 cp.

Subjects you can Study:

Clinical sciences

Study Pathways:

Students will progress into Flinders University's Northern Territory-based Doctor of Medicine (MD) if they pass all units and maintain a GPA of 5.

Further information:

Criminal History Check: students entering this course will not be required to undergo National Police Checks. However, as it articulates with Flinders University MD all medical students will be required to complete a National Police Check prior to undertaking any placement. This requirement will apply to students when they commence the MD component of the course in the third year of the BCSC.

Related Careers:

Science Field Officer,
Campus ATAR/OP Adjusted Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
Casuarina No info No Full time 3 years
Charles Darwin University is the major tertiary education and vocational education and training institution in the Northern Territory.

Originally established as a tertiary institution in 1974, it became the Northern Territory University in 1989 and Charles Darwin University in 2003.

The main University campus is located at Casuarina in Darwin with campuses at Alice Springs, Katherine and Palmerston. VET courses are also offered at Jabiru, Nhulunbuy, Tennant Creek and Yulara Centres as well as at various remote community centres.

The University provides multi-sector education with Senior Secondary, VET, Higher Education and Research facilities.

CDU also deliver a number of courses through the Australian Centre for Indigenous Knowledges and Education (ACIKE), which is a joint initiative between Charles Darwin University (CDU) and the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education (BIITE). The three main sites for delivery will be at the main ACIKE Hub CDU Casuarina campus and at the BIITE campuses at Batchelor and the Alice Springs Desert Peoples' Centre.

Provider CRICOS: 00300K (NT); 03286A (NSW)

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Enquire about this course

Related courses