Bachelor of Computer Science / Master of Information Technology

Charles Darwin University (CDU)

Computer Science is a challenging and rapidly developing field, with new applications being developed to enhance the environment we live in. Students develop an understanding of the underlying principles and applications of computer science in the acquisition of professional knowledge and skills which will enable them to adapt to this interesting and dynamic field as professionals. The three IT specialisations: software engineering, cyber security, information systems and data science allows students to choose their area of interests to work in the related field. This course recognises the importance that employers place on people skills and management processes. Therefore, students will also learn to be problem solvers, decision makers, good communicators and team players.

Course Fee:

International: $141,000

Entry Requirements:

NTCET or equivalent (Year 12) and an ATAR of 90 or higher; or Certificate IV or above; or STAT score of 173 or greater; or 6 months of full-time study (or equivalent) of a higher education degree/diploma.


This five-year combined degree consists of core computer science units, specialist IT units in software engineering, cyber security and information systems and data science, a yearlong thesis and a project.

Subjects you can Study:

Computer science; Software engineering; Cyber security; Information systems; Data science


Australian Computer Society, EQANIE.

Accepts International Students:


Campus ATAR/OP Adjusted Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
Casuarina No info Yes Part time 10 years
Casuarina No info Yes Full time 5 years
Casuarina No info Yes Online
Charles Darwin University is the major tertiary education and vocational education and training institution in the Northern Territory.

Originally established as a tertiary institution in 1974, it became the Northern Territory University in 1989 and Charles Darwin University in 2003.

The main University campus is located at Casuarina in Darwin with campuses at Alice Springs, Katherine and Palmerston. VET courses are also offered at Jabiru, Nhulunbuy, Tennant Creek and Yulara Centres as well as at various remote community centres.

The University provides multi-sector education with Senior Secondary, VET, Higher Education and Research facilities.

CDU also deliver a number of courses through the Australian Centre for Indigenous Knowledges and Education (ACIKE), which is a joint initiative between Charles Darwin University (CDU) and the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education (BIITE). The three main sites for delivery will be at the main ACIKE Hub CDU Casuarina campus and at the BIITE campuses at Batchelor and the Alice Springs Desert Peoples' Centre.

Provider CRICOS: 00300K (NT); 03286A (NSW)

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Enquire about this course

Related courses