Bachelor of Engineering Science

Charles Darwin University (CDU)

This program includes specialisations in chemical engineering, civil and structural engineering, electrical and electronics engineering and mechanical engineering. Emphasis is placed on learning through project work with students being exposed to engineering practice through guest lectures by practising engineers, site visits and work experience.

Course Fee:

International: $100,440

Entry Requirements:

NTCET or equivalent (Year 12) and an ATAR of 60 or higher; or Certificate IV or above; or STAT score of 135 or greater; or submission of an acceptable personal competencies statement and/or employment experience; or 6 months of full-time study (or equivalent) of a higher education degree/diploma; or completion of 40 credit points in the Preparation for Tertiary Study Program (ZTEP01), the Preparation for Tertiary Success (ZPTS11 or ZPTS21), or other recognised tertiary preparation course.


The program consists of 24 coursework and one work experience unit. The first year of study introduces basic engineering skills common to all specialisations. In subsequent years students follow a study path specifically developed for their area of specialisation.

Subjects you can Study:

Engineering-chemical; Engineering-civil and structural; Engineering-electrical and electronics; Engineering-mechanical

Study Pathways:

Master of Engineering

Further information:

Assumed knowledge: Stage 2 Mathematical Methods


The course is accredited to European EUR-ACE first cycle requirements and provisionally accredited by Engineers Australia at the level of engineering technologist. Graduates will therefore be recognised in most of the world as engineering technologists.

Accepts International Students:


Campus ATAR/OP Adjusted Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
Casuarina No info Yes Part time 6 years
Casuarina No info Yes Full time 3 years
Casuarina No info Yes Online
Charles Darwin University is the major tertiary education and vocational education and training institution in the Northern Territory.

Originally established as a tertiary institution in 1974, it became the Northern Territory University in 1989 and Charles Darwin University in 2003.

The main University campus is located at Casuarina in Darwin with campuses at Alice Springs, Katherine and Palmerston. VET courses are also offered at Jabiru, Nhulunbuy, Tennant Creek and Yulara Centres as well as at various remote community centres.

The University provides multi-sector education with Senior Secondary, VET, Higher Education and Research facilities.

CDU also deliver a number of courses through the Australian Centre for Indigenous Knowledges and Education (ACIKE), which is a joint initiative between Charles Darwin University (CDU) and the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education (BIITE). The three main sites for delivery will be at the main ACIKE Hub CDU Casuarina campus and at the BIITE campuses at Batchelor and the Alice Springs Desert Peoples' Centre.

Provider CRICOS: 00300K (NT); 03286A (NSW)

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Enquire about this course

Related courses