This program is a professional degree designed to meet the demands for pharmacy services in Australia with an additional focus on health practice in challenging environments, including rural and remote, to meet the unique and diverse needs of communities in Australia. Pharmacists are knowledgeable about the chemical, physical, and biological properties of medicines; how medications work, their usage and their clinical effects. Pharmacists provide information, advice, and education on medicines and health issues enabling patients to achieve optimal health outcomes. Pharmacists are also involved in advising medical practitioners and other health-care professionals on the interactions and side effects of medications, medication selection and dosage, and a range of other issues.

Course Fee:

International: $134,400

Entry Requirements:

NTCET or equivalent (Year 12) and an ATAR of 80 or higher; or Certificate IV or above; or STAT score of 162 or greater; or submission of an acceptable personal competencies statement and/or employment experience; or 6 months of full-time study (or equivalent) of a higher education degree/diploma; or completion of 40 credit points in the Preparation for Tertiary Study Program (ZTEP01), the Preparation for Tertiary Success (ZPTS11 or ZPTS21), or other recognised tertiary preparation course.


This program consists of 32 units (320 credit points). The first year covers basic science and pharmaceutics. Second year includes the study of drugs and pharmaceutical sciences; third and fourth year focuses on therapeutics, advanced pharmaceutics and pharmacy practice with compulsory placements in community pharmacies, hospitals and rural or remote primary health care centres.

Subjects you can Study:


Study Pathways:

The Bachelor of Pharmacy (Honours) is available to eligible candidates in the fourth year of the Bachelor of Pharmacy.

Further information:

Assumed Knowledge: Stage 2 Mathematical Methods. Students looking to strengthen their application through SATAC are encouraged to submit a supporting statement to demonstrate reasons why they are interested in studying pharmacy at CDU.


This course satisfies the requirements of the Australian Pharmacy Council. Eligibility for registration in Australia will be granted by the Pharmacy Board of Australia. Pharmacists registered in Australia are able to work as pharmacists in all Australian States and Territories and New Zealand.

Accepts International Students:


Provider CRICOS: 00300K (NT); 03286A (NSW)

Related Careers:

Campus ATAR/OP Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
Casuarina No info Yes Full time 4 years
Casuarina No info Yes Part time 8 years
Charles Darwin University is the major tertiary education and vocational education and training institution in the Northern Territory.

Originally established as a tertiary institution in 1974, it became the Northern Territory University in 1989 and Charles Darwin University in 2003.

The main University campus is located at Casuarina in Darwin with campuses at Alice Springs, Katherine and Palmerston. VET courses are also offered at Jabiru, Nhulunbuy, Tennant Creek and Yulara Centres as well as at various remote community centres.

The University provides multi-sector education with Senior Secondary, VET, Higher Education and Research facilities.

CDU also deliver a number of courses through the Australian Centre for Indigenous Knowledges and Education (ACIKE), which is a joint initiative between Charles Darwin University (CDU) and the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education (BIITE). The three main sites for delivery will be at the main ACIKE Hub CDU Casuarina campus and at the BIITE campuses at Batchelor and the Alice Springs Desert Peoples' Centre.

Provider CRICOS: 00300K (NT); 03286A (NSW)

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Enquire about this course