The course is designed for students who are interested in studying science but are not sure about committing to a 3-year degree. The Diploma provides specialisation streams which are direct pathways into the second year of one of the many Bachelor degrees offered by CDU, for students who wish to continue their studies at the completion of the Diploma. The Diploma is also a recognised feeder course for degrees at other tertiary institutions, whereby students can complete the first year of their degree at Charles Darwin University and receive a Diploma of Science, before transferring to an approved alternative tertiary institution.

Course Fee:

International: $29,520

Entry Requirements:

NTCET or equivalent (Year 12) and an ATAR of 60 or higher; or Certificate IV or above; or STAT score of 135 or greater; or submission of an acceptable personal competencies statement and/or employment experience; or 6 months of full-time study (or equivalent) of a higher education degree/diploma; or completion of 40 credit points in the Preparation for Tertiary Study Program (ZTEP01), the Preparation for Tertiary Success (ZPTS11 or ZPTS21), or other recognised tertiary preparation course.


80 credit points including a combination of common, core, specialist elective and elective units.

Subjects you can Study:

Animal behaviour; Aquaculture; Biomedical science; Biotechnology; Ecology; Environmental science; Forensic and analytical chemistry; General science; Geographic information science (GIS); Nanotechnology; Marine science

Study Pathways:

CDU: Bachelor of Science; Bachelor of Environmental Science. Flinders University: Bachelor of Medical Science (Vision Science); Bachelor of Science (Animal Behaviour); Bachelor of Science (Aquaculture); Bachelor of Science (Biotechnology); Bachelor of Science (Forensic and Analytical Science); Bachelor of Science (Nanotechnology). James Cook University: Bachelor of Marine Science. Australian National University: Bachelor of Science.

Further information:

External students may be required to attend on-campus intensive teaching blocks depending on the units studied.

Accepts International Students:


Related Careers:

Science Field Officer,
Campus ATAR/OP Adjusted Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
Casuarina No info Yes Part time 2 years
Casuarina No info Yes Full time 1 year
Casuarina No info Yes Online
Charles Darwin University is the major tertiary education and vocational education and training institution in the Northern Territory.

Originally established as a tertiary institution in 1974, it became the Northern Territory University in 1989 and Charles Darwin University in 2003.

The main University campus is located at Casuarina in Darwin with campuses at Alice Springs, Katherine and Palmerston. VET courses are also offered at Jabiru, Nhulunbuy, Tennant Creek and Yulara Centres as well as at various remote community centres.

The University provides multi-sector education with Senior Secondary, VET, Higher Education and Research facilities.

CDU also deliver a number of courses through the Australian Centre for Indigenous Knowledges and Education (ACIKE), which is a joint initiative between Charles Darwin University (CDU) and the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education (BIITE). The three main sites for delivery will be at the main ACIKE Hub CDU Casuarina campus and at the BIITE campuses at Batchelor and the Alice Springs Desert Peoples' Centre.

Provider CRICOS: 00300K (NT); 03286A (NSW)

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Enquire about this course

Related courses