Bachelor of Arts

Deakin University

This course offers enormous flexibility, allowing you to keep your career options open and design your course around your interests and for maximum employability. All arts major sequences are taught as a combination of practical and theoretical learning, with many areas of study offering work placements. One-third of the course may be taken from outside the Faculty of Arts and Education and you may take single, double, or even triple majors, providing numerous course combinations.

Course Fee:

International: $75,264

Entry Requirements:

Year 12 or equivalent: Units 3 and 4 and a study score of at least 25 in English (EAL) or 20 in English other than EAL


The degree consists of a total of 24 credit points comprising two major sequences of at least 8 credit points each or one major of at least 8 credit points and one minor of at least 4 credit points

Subjects you can Study:

Advertising; Anthropology; Arabic; Buddhist studies; Children's literature; Chinese; Creative writing; Criminology; Design; Digital media; Drama; Education; Film, television and animation; Gender and sexuality studies; Geography and society; History; Indonesian; International politics; International relations; Islamic studies; Journalism; Language and culture studies; Literary studies; Media studies; Middle east studies; Philosophy; Photography; Politics and policy studies; Professional experience and practice; Public relations; Sociology; Spanish; Sport and society; Studies of religion; Sustainability and society; Visual arts

Study Pathways:

An Honours year is available.

Further information:

Majors and minors not available all campuses.

Accepts International Students:


Provider CRICOS: 00113B

Campus ATAR/OP Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
Burwood 60.1 Yes Online
Burwood 60.1 Yes
Burwood 60.1 Yes Full time 3 years
Burwood 60.1 Yes Part time 6 years
Waurn Ponds 60.8 Yes Online 6 years
Waurn Ponds 60.8 Yes Full time 3 years
Waurn Ponds 60.8 Yes Part time 6 years

Deakin’s course curriculum integrates real-world expertise with practical skills to give students a competitive edge. More than 58,000 students have chosen Deakin for its industry-aligned courses, teachers that are leaders in their field, flexible study options on campus and online, leading edge facilities and proven record of scientific achievements. 

Deakin’s internationally recognised quality of research and teaching puts it in the top two per cent of the world’s universities (Academic Ranking of World Universities, Times Higher Education, QS World University Rankings). Deakin is also number one for student satisfaction in Victoria (2016 Student Experience Survey). 

Deakin is one of Australia’s largest universities, with over 40 years of experience as a leading tertiary education provider. Its five campuses include one in Melbourne's eastern suburbs, two in the port city of Geelong and one in Warrnambool on the south-west coast of Victoria, plus 15,000 students that study predominantly online via Deakin’s Cloud Campus. All students, regardless of their campus or mode of study, benefit from Deakin’s award-winning digital environment. Deakin is committed to lifelong learning, providing students with choices about how, when and where learning occurs. 

Deakin is proud of its inclusive and student-focused culture and its reputation for using innovative digital solutions to provide an engaging and personalised learning experience. Deakin has a large, diverse student body, with many mature age and part-time students, as well as many international students and students from regional areas. 

Deakin’s four faculties offer both undergraduate and postgraduate courses across the arts, science, sport, nutrition, psychology, business, law, medicine, engineering, nursing, allied health, information technology and teaching. 


Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Receive information from institutions offering similar courses

Related courses