Bachelor of Arts / Bachelor of Law

Deakin University

In this combined Arts / Law program students can choose to study areas such as history, sociology, philosophy, politics and policy or literary studies in addition to studies in Law. Combining an Arts degree with a Law degree enhances students' understanding of the context in which the law operates.

Course Fee:

International: $162,000

Entry Requirements:

Students must meet the requirements for entry to both the Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws. Year 12 applicants must meet the prerequisite of Units 3 and 4 - a study score of at least 35 in English (EAL) or 25 in any other English. Entry for non-school leavers will be based on STAT results, GPA from Bachelor level or postgraduate studies from courses undertaken. For information on the STAT please visit


40 credit points comprising 16 Arts and 24 Law units. 16 credit points of Law are core and 8 credit points are Law electives.

Subjects you can Study:

Advertising; Anthropology; Arabic; Children's literature; Chinese; Creative writing; Criminology; Design; Digital media; Drama; Education; Film, television and animation; Gender and sexuality studies; Geography and society; History; Indonesian; International politics; International relations; Journalism; Language and culture studies; Law; Literary studies; Media studies; Middle East studies; Philosophy; Photography; Politics and policy studies; Professional experience and practice; Public relations; Sociology; Spanish; Sport and society; Studies of religions; Sustainability and society; Visual arts

Further information:

BA majors not available at all campuses.


Deakin's Bachelor of Laws is designed to satisfy the university component of the requirements to become an Australian Lawyer set by the Victorian Legal Admissions Board (VLAB). In addition to completing an approved LLB degree, a person seeking entry is required to work for one year as a legal trainee, or to undertake a practical legal training (PLT) course.

Accepts International Students:


Provider CRICOS: 00113B

Campus ATAR/OP Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
Burwood 91.05 Yes Online 5 years
Burwood 91.05 Yes Full time 5 years
Burwood 91.05 Yes Part time 10 years
Waterfront 85.5 Yes Online 5 years
Waterfront 85.5 Yes Full time 5 years
Waterfront 85.5 Yes Part time 10 years
Warrnambool No info Yes Online 5 years
Warrnambool No info Yes Full time 5 years
Warrnambool No info Yes Part time 10 years
Established in 1974, Deakin University was named after the leader of the Australian Federation movement and the nation’s second Prime Minister, Alfred Deakin.

Deakin University has five campuses, one in Melbourne's eastern suburbs, two in the port city of Geelong and one in Warrnambool on the south-west coast of Victoria. Deakin’s fastest growing campus is in the Cloud where over 13,000 students study predominantly online. All students, regardless of their campus or mode of study, benefit from Deakin’s award-winning digital environment.

Deakin is proud of its inclusive and student-focused culture and its reputation for using innovative digital solutions to provide an engaging and personalised learning experience. Deakin is committed to lifelong learning, providing students with choices about how, when and where learning occurs.

Deakin’s four faculties offer courses across the arts, science, sport, nutrition, architecture, business, law, medicine, optometry, engineering, nursing, allied health, psychology and teaching.

With 56 000 students it is one of Australia’s largest universities and is ranked in the top 2 per cent of the world’s universities in each of the major rankings (ranked 29 in the QS ranking of the world’s universities under 50 years.

Provider CRICOS: 00113B

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Receive information from institutions offering similar courses

Related courses