Bachelor of Arts / Bachelor of Science

Deakin University

This double degree lets you combine complementary arts and science major sequences. Studying arts provides students with highly-developed critical-thinking skills, while undertaking units in science prepares students for work in areas such as biology, environmental policy, and industrial development. Successful graduates of this course receive two degrees and a competitive advantage over those with a single only one degree.

Course Fee:

International: $148,520

Entry Requirements:

Year 12 or equivalent: Units 3 and 4 and a study score of at least 25 in English (EAL) or 20 in English other than EAL


Students will undertake 16 credit points in the Faculty of Arts and Education and 16 credit points in the Faculty of Science and Technology. Course requirements for both the Bachelor of Arts and the Bachelor of Science must be satisfied.

Subjects you can Study:

Advertising; Animal biology; Anthropology; Arabic; Buddhist studies; Cell biology; Chemistry; Chemistry and material science; Children's literature; Chinese; Creative writing; Criminology; Design; Digital media; Drama; Education; Environmental science; Film, television and animation; Fisheries and aquaculture; Freshwater biology; Gender and sexuality studies; Genomics; Geography; Geography and society; History; Human biology; Indonesian; International politics; International relations; Islamic studies; Journalism; Language and culture studies; Literary studies; Mathematical modelling; Media studies; Middle East studies; Natural history; Philosophy; Photography; Plant biology; Politics and policy studies; Professional experience and practice; Public relations; Science; Sociology; Spanish; Sport and society; Studies of religion; Sustainability and society; Visual arts;

Further information:

Some major sequences are not available at all campuses

Accepts International Students:


Provider CRICOS: 00113B

Campus ATAR/OP Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
Burwood 60.15 Yes Full time 4 years
Burwood 60.15 Yes Part time 8 years
Waurn Ponds 65.05 Yes Full time 4 years
Waurn Ponds 65.05 Yes Part time 8 years

Deakin’s course curriculum integrates real-world expertise with practical skills to give students a competitive edge. More than 58,000 students have chosen Deakin for its industry-aligned courses, teachers that are leaders in their field, flexible study options on campus and online, leading edge facilities and proven record of scientific achievements. 

Deakin’s internationally recognised quality of research and teaching puts it in the top two per cent of the world’s universities (Academic Ranking of World Universities, Times Higher Education, QS World University Rankings). Deakin is also number one for student satisfaction in Victoria (2016 Student Experience Survey). 

Deakin is one of Australia’s largest universities, with over 40 years of experience as a leading tertiary education provider. Its five campuses include one in Melbourne's eastern suburbs, two in the port city of Geelong and one in Warrnambool on the south-west coast of Victoria, plus 15,000 students that study predominantly online via Deakin’s Cloud Campus. All students, regardless of their campus or mode of study, benefit from Deakin’s award-winning digital environment. Deakin is committed to lifelong learning, providing students with choices about how, when and where learning occurs. 

Deakin is proud of its inclusive and student-focused culture and its reputation for using innovative digital solutions to provide an engaging and personalised learning experience. Deakin has a large, diverse student body, with many mature age and part-time students, as well as many international students and students from regional areas. 

Deakin’s four faculties offer both undergraduate and postgraduate courses across the arts, science, sport, nutrition, psychology, business, law, medicine, engineering, nursing, allied health, information technology and teaching. 


Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Receive information from institutions offering similar courses

Related courses