Australian Catholic University (ACU)

Australian Catholic University (ACU) commenced operation on 1 January 1991. The University has seven campuses in Adelaide, Ballarat, Brisbane, Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney (2 campuses) and teaches courses throughout Australia and overseas. The University was formed by the amalgamation of four Catholic institutions of higher education in eastern Australia, and is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (Australian Catholic University Ltd).

ACU is a public university open to all, a Table A listed higher education provider under the Higher Education Support Act 2003, and a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities, and the International Federation of Catholic Universities. The University is a member of Universities Australia (formerly the Australian Vice-Chancellors' Committee).

The three foundation Faculties are Arts and Sciences, Education, and Health Sciences. The Faculty of Theology and Philosophy commenced operation on 1 January 2009 and the Faculty of Business commenced operation on 1 January 2010.

ACU graduates are high achievers and enjoy one of the best rates of employment in Australia. ACU students undertake work experience throughout their studies, with many students finding jobs using their professional skills even before they have graduated.

ACU's small friendly campuses, small class sizes (student to teacher ratio of 18.5:1), easy access to teaching staff and outstanding student support services allows students to achieve their full potential.

Provider CRICOS: 00004G

This provider is accredited to deliver courses to international students, (CRICOS code 00004G)

Entry requirements for Australian Catholic University (ACU)

Undergraduate courses: Eligibility for admission to an undergraduate course is assessed on the basis of results obtained in Australian State Year 12 courses, or other equivalent qualification or experience.

Postgraduate courses: The entry requirement for a postgraduate certificate or postgraduate diploma course is a pass bachelor degree or diploma, together with vocational experience as specified in the course requirements. The entry requirement for a coursework master degree is a pass bachelor degree with significant studies in the relevant field or relevant postgraduate diploma, together with any vocational experience specified in course requirements.

Transfering your previous study credits

The maximum credit that may be granted on the basis of previous studies or recognised prior learning is: Bachelor (4th Year Upgrade): one-half of the course; Bachelor degree: two-thirds of the course; Honours requirements: 30 credit points; Diploma: one-half of the course; Dual bachelor degrees: one-half of the dual course; Graduate entry bachelor degree: one-half of the course; Postgraduate/Graduate Certificate: one-half of the course; Postgraduate/Graduate Diploma: one-half of the course; Master degree (excluding theses, dissertations or research projects): 100 credit points in the case of a 160 credit point degree; two-thirds of the course in the case of a 120 credit point degree; one-half of the course in the case of an 80 credit point degree; Non-award course: one-half of the non-award course requirements. A student will not be granted credit for units completed: (a) for an undergraduate course, one year more than twice the minimum duration of the course; or (b) for a postgraduate course, four times the minimum duration of the course, unless approved by the Head of School on the basis of evidence of subsequent development and life or work experience in the discipline.

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Enquire about this institution