Certificate II in Aquaculture

Charles Darwin University (CDU)

This qualification is part of the Seafood Industry Training Package. It represents the base entry point into this sector of the seafood industry and provides people with a range of core and underpinning skills and knowledge relevant to work as a field hand in the aquaculture sector. Work at this level is usually undertaken under general supervision and follows routine processes and procedures.

Entry Requirements:

No minimum education; students must have a current drivers licence


15 units: 4 core; 11 elective

Subjects you can Study:

Core: Apply basic food handling and safety procedures; Communicate in the seafood industry; Work effectively in the seafood industry; Meet workplace OHS requirements. Elective: Apply chemicals under supervision; Operate machinery and equipment; Manipulate stock culture environment; Undertake routine maintenance of water supply and disposal systems and structures; Harvest cultured or held stock; plus more.

Campus Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
Katherine Town Centre
Tennant Creek Centre
Casuarina No 1 year
Jabiru Centre
Casuarina No Part time 1 year
CDU Sydney
Casuarina No Full time 0.5 year
Katherine Rural
Nhulunbuy Campus
Alice Springs
CDU Waterfront Darwin
Charles Darwin University is the major tertiary education and vocational education and training institution in the Northern Territory.

Originally established as a tertiary institution in 1974, it became the Northern Territory University in 1989 and Charles Darwin University in 2003.

The main University campus is located at Casuarina in Darwin with campuses at Alice Springs, Katherine and Palmerston. VET courses are also offered at Jabiru, Nhulunbuy, Tennant Creek and Yulara Centres as well as at various remote community centres.

The University provides multi-sector education with Senior Secondary, VET, Higher Education and Research facilities.

CDU also deliver a number of courses through the Australian Centre for Indigenous Knowledges and Education (ACIKE), which is a joint initiative between Charles Darwin University (CDU) and the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education (BIITE). The three main sites for delivery will be at the main ACIKE Hub CDU Casuarina campus and at the BIITE campuses at Batchelor and the Alice Springs Desert Peoples' Centre.

Provider CRICOS: 00300K (NT); 03286A (NSW)

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Enquire about this course

Related courses