Certificate II in Split Air-conditioning and Heat Pump Systems

Charles Darwin University (CDU)

This qualification is part of the Electrotechnology Training Package. It covers the installation, commissioning and de-commissioning of single head, split air conditioning systems to a prescribed routine where the maximum plant capacity for each system does not exceed 18 kWr. This includes wall hung, floor and ceiling suspended, cassette and ducted fan coil split systems. This qualification excludes competencies required for service, repair, maintenance, diagnostic/fault finding and electrical work or the safe and proper installation of commercial refrigeration and air conditioning plant and equipment.

Entry Requirements:

Relevant employment experience


9 core; plus at least 1 stream core; plus electives

Subjects you can Study:

Core: Apply OHS practices in the workplace; Dismantle, assemble and fabricate electrotechnology components; Fix and secure equipment; Use drawings, diagrams, schedules and manuals; Document occupational hazards and risks in refrigeration and Air-conditioning; Participate in development and follow a personal competency development plan; Prepare refrigeration tubing and fittings; Position, assemble and start up split air conditioning systems; Recover, pressure and leak test, evacuate and charge refrigerants - split air conditioning systems. Stream core: Maintain documentation; Source and purchase material/parts for installation or service jobs; Deliver a service to customers; Participate in environmentally sustainable work practices; plus more and electives.

Campus Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
Katherine Rural
Jabiru Centre
Casuarina No Part time 2 years
Alice Springs
Katherine Town Centre
CDU Waterfront Darwin
CDU Sydney
Nhulunbuy Campus
Tennant Creek Centre
Charles Darwin University is the major tertiary education and vocational education and training institution in the Northern Territory.

Originally established as a tertiary institution in 1974, it became the Northern Territory University in 1989 and Charles Darwin University in 2003.

The main University campus is located at Casuarina in Darwin with campuses at Alice Springs, Katherine and Palmerston. VET courses are also offered at Jabiru, Nhulunbuy, Tennant Creek and Yulara Centres as well as at various remote community centres.

The University provides multi-sector education with Senior Secondary, VET, Higher Education and Research facilities.

CDU also deliver a number of courses through the Australian Centre for Indigenous Knowledges and Education (ACIKE), which is a joint initiative between Charles Darwin University (CDU) and the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education (BIITE). The three main sites for delivery will be at the main ACIKE Hub CDU Casuarina campus and at the BIITE campuses at Batchelor and the Alice Springs Desert Peoples' Centre.

Provider CRICOS: 00300K (NT); 03286A (NSW)

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Enquire about this course

Related courses